Protect yourself and your motorcycle from accidental damage. Our friendly brokers are ready to explore your options.
Whats required of motorcycle insurance in Nevada?
You have to show financial responsibility in Nevada if you are going to be riding a motorcycle. The most common way to establish financial responsibility is through liability insurance. The insurance minimums are $30/$60,000 for bodily injury coverage per accident and $10,000 for property damage. You will need to wear a helmet unless you are over 18 years old. Eyewear is required by the state, though.
Other ways to show financial responsibility include a deposit in cash or securities made to a county judge or comptroller, or a surety bond that is filed with the county clerk. The state statutes are also specific about what constitutes a motorcycle. Motorcycles are vehicles with a maximum of three wheels and a saddle for the rider, and they need to follow the same passenger vehicle rules when it comes to insurance and registration.
An agent at Family Insurance can help you determine if your vehicle qualifies.
Other types of motorocycle insurance
The state minimums will only cover your liability and won’t do anything else to protect your bike. You may also want to consider getting more than the state minimums to give you more peace of mind. Collision and comprehensive coverage will protect your bike if you are involved in an accident or your motorcycle is damaged in other ways, such as by vandalism. Roadside assistance can help if your bike becomes disabled.
Trip interruption insurance will pay for lodging, alternative transportation, and food while your motorcycle is being repaired, and you are more than 100 miles from home. Medical payments can pay for any medical bills associated with an accident. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage can protect you from drivers who don’t have insurance or not enough insurance.
Contact Family Insurance to get a quote on motorcycle insurance.